Main content



Doctoral exam of Micha Wasem

Micha Wasem successfully defended his doctoral thesis entitled: "Convex integration, isometric extensions & approximation of curves". Congratulations! Read more 


FIM symposium: Abel in Zurich

On behalf of the Abel Committee of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Institute for Mathematical Research (FIM) is hosting a one-day symposium with talks given by Sir Michael Atiyah, John Rognes and Endre Szemerédi. Read more 


FIM conference: Random processes and random media: A conference on the occasion of Alain-Sol Sznitman's 60th birthday

The conference with over 120 participants from all over the world has started on 11 January and will last until 15 January 2016. It is organised by Gérard Ben Arous (New York University), Erwin Bolthausen (University of Zurich), Vladas Sidoravicius (New York University) and Wendelin Werner (D-MATH). Read more 

Open positions


Assistant professor position available

The Department of Mathematics invites applications for assistant professor of applied mathematics. The assistant professor will be member of the Seminar for Applied Mathematics (SAM). Read more 

Upcoming events

22 February 2016 - 11:00 - Research Seminar in Statistics
Unsupervised Ensemble Learning – Nadler Boaz (Weizmann Institute of Science) in HG G 19.1 

22 February 2016 - 14:00 - Doctoral Exam
High Throughput Approaches to Study Molecular Pathways from Genotype to Phenotype – Chenchen Zhu (Examiner: Prof. Dr. Peter Bühlmann) in HG G 19.1 

22 February 2016 - 16:30 - Optimization Seminar
Title T.B.A. – in HG G 19.1 

Walter Saxer Prize 2016

Walter Saxer

The awarding of this year's Walter Saxer Insurance Prize takes place on Tuesday, 8 March, 5.15 p.m. HG F 5

Guest lecture by Prof. Hans Gersbach (D-MTEC) on "Insurance and reinsurance of the financial system".

Conferences and workshops

Probabilistic and extremal combinatorics

23-27 May 2016
(Organized by the FIM)

Read more


Analysis in the large - Calculus of variations, dynamics, geometry… In honour of Helmut Hofer

6-10 June 2016
(Organized by the FIM)

Read more

Page URL:
© 2016 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich