Department of Mathematics

Heinz Hopf Prize and Lectures

The Heinz Hopf Prize at ETH Zurich was established based on a donation made by Dorothee and Alfred Aeppli and is awarded for outstanding scientific work in the field of pure mathematics. The Prize amount is CHF 30'000.-. The Prize is awarded every two years on the occasion of the Heinz Hopf Lectures, which already have a tradition at ETH Zurich. The Lectures are given by the prize winner.

Online biography of Heinz Hopf

Newspaper article written by Beno Eckmann (pdf, 7.9 MB)

Laureates 2013

The Heinz Hopf Prize 2013 has been awarded to Yakov Eliashberg (Stanford University) and Helmut Hofer (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton).

The award ceremony took place on December 3, 2013 and was presented by Prof. Dr. Roland Y. Siegwart, Vice President Research and Corporate of the ETH Zurich.

Pictures of the ceremony can be found here.


The Statutes of the Heinz Hopf Prize have been approved by the president of ETH on May 20, 2008 and subsequently be published in the Rechtssammlung of ETH Zurich under No. RSETHZ 211.810.83; see here for the published documents (english, german). The responsibility for the Prize lies with the Heinz Hopf Prize Committee and the Heinz Hopf Prize Board.


Everybody is welcome to submit nominations for the Heinz Hopf Prize. Nominations are confidential and should not be made known to the nominee. Self-nominations are not acceptable.

A nomination should include a curriculum vitae and a description of the candidate's work, commenting on its significance and impact. Nominations should be submitted to the chairman of the Heinz Hopf Prize Committee, preferably be email.


Wichtiger Hinweis:
Diese Website wird in älteren Versionen von Netscape ohne graphische Elemente dargestellt. Die Funktionalität der Website ist aber trotzdem gewährleistet. Wenn Sie diese Website regelmässig benutzen, empfehlen wir Ihnen, auf Ihrem Computer einen aktuellen Browser zu installieren. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf
folgender Seite.

Important Note:
The content in this site is accessible to any browser or Internet device, however, some graphics will display correctly only in the newer versions of Netscape. To get the most out of our site we suggest you upgrade to a newer browser.
More information

© 2015 Mathematics Department | Imprint | Disclaimer | 16 April 2015